Tax-Credits & Incentives

State & Local

Updated: October 2015

As of October 2015 eleven states offer ongoing, statewide rebates or tax incentives for

* Pellet stoves: Alabama, Arizona, Idaho, Maine, Maryland, Montana, New York, Oregon
* Wood stoves: Arizona, Idaho, Maryland, Montana, Oregon
* Wood or pellet boilers: Alabama, Maine, Massachusetts, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont,

Appliance eligibility requirements vary from state to state. For pellet stoves, for example, Maryland and New York require stove emit no more than 2 grams per hour; in Maine and Oregon, its no more than 2.5 grams an hour. In other states you must turn in an old wood stove (Montana), convert a fireplace to a stove (Arizona), convert your primary heating system to wood or pellets (Alabama) or displace oil, electricity or propane heat (Maryland & New York).

Many other states have regional wood stove change out programs, such as in the Puget Sound area and California’s central valley where air inversions are common. For more info:

If you know of wood or pellet heater incentives that are not on this page, or if details are out of date, please let us know at

Tax-Credits & Incentives
    Home Star Rebates
    Change Out Programs