top of page

Change-out Programs


Updated August 26th, 2016

Burn Bright Burn Right Woodstove Replacement Program

Placer County, California

Status:  Active as of October 16, 2023

Location: Carnelian Bay, Homewood, Kings Beach, Lake Forest, Tahoe City, Tahoe Vista & Tahoma

Eligible fuels: Wood (uncertified) -> wood (certified), pellet, gas

Notable feature(s): Residents can potentially receive a voucher to upgrade multiple devices per resident (although they are only allowed one update per year.) ** “This program is a collaboration between the Placer County Air Pollution Control District and the El Dorado Air Quality Management District.”

Incentive Amounts
Placer County is offering qualified applicants vouchers from $599 to $2000 to replace their old, uncertified wood stoves or fireplaces with an EPA-certified wood or pellet stove/insert, gas, or electric heating device.

Program Duration
The program is on a first-come, first-served basis until funding is depleted.      


Applicants must first acquire a Pre-Approval from the Air Quality Management District, which involves an on-site visit. This is necessary before removing an old unit. You may call in your application at (530) 621-7501 or fill out the online application.The wood stoves that are to be removed cannot be an EPA certified unit (must be uncertified.) Uncertified wood appliances must be used in a primary year round residence. Property owners are only allowed one upgrade per year. Fireplaces are eligible with attached doors if used to heat the home, or open face fireplaces if they are the sole heat source. Installations of uncertified wood appliances are banned by County Rule 225.   

More Information

For more information, please visit the program website or contact Air Pollution Control at (530) 745-2375 or

1.   Change-out Resources
2.  Change-out Programs






   Bay Area

   El Dorado


   Northern Sonoma




   San Lorenzo

   San Joaquin

   San Luis Obispo

   South Coast



   Fort Collins

   Northern Colorado




   West Silver Valley


   Linn County




   Lower Peninsula




   Butte-Silver Bow


   Western Nevada

New Hampshire and Maine

New York



   Washington County



   Columbia Valley
   Thurston County



bottom of page