top of page

Change-out Programs

(San Joaquin)

Updated November, 2023

Burn Cleaner: Fireplace and Woodstove Changeout

San Joaquin Valley Air Basin, California

Status:  Active as of October 19, 2023

Location: Madera, Fresno, the Valley Air Basin portion of Kern County, or AB 617 Stockton Community, Kings, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare County Residence

Eligible fuels: Wood (uncertified) -> wood (certified), pellet, gas, electric heat pump; Wood (certified) -> pellet, gas, electric heat pump

Notable feature(s):  Includes renters and rebates to replace certified wood stoves with pellet, gas or electric.

Incentive Amounts
The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District offers $1,000-$5,000 vouchers for tenants and homeowners who replace an uncertified or certified wood burning device with a certified wood, pellet, natural gas, or electric heat pump (those switching to gas and low-income residents receive higher incentives).

Program Duration
The program is ongoing until funds are depleted, but priority is given to low-income applicants, people switching to natural gas, and those without piped natural gas service.      


Participants must first fill out a voucher application online including all required documents to the District for approval. Once the voucher is approved, it can be presented to a participating program retailer for purchase of the new device and installation. Participants can then redeem their voucher by submitting a complete Claim for Payment Packet to the District.

Applicants must certify that they will remove or recycle the old device within 60 days of installing the new device. The new device must be installed at the device address for at least three years. District Rule 4901 bans the sale of uncertified wood burning devices and contains other restrictions on wood use.   

More Information
For more information, please visit the program website or contact the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution District at (559) 230-5800 or

1.   Change-out Resources
2.  Change-out Programs






   Bay Area

   El Dorado


   Northern Sonoma




   San Lorenzo

   San Joaquin

   San Luis Obispo

   South Coast



   Fort Collins

   Northern Colorado




   West Silver Valley


   Linn County




   Lower Peninsula




   Butte-Silver Bow


   Western Nevada

New Hampshire and Maine

New York



   Washington County



   Columbia Valley
   Thurston County



bottom of page