top of page

Change-out Programs

(San Luis Obispo)

Updated November, 2023

Wood Burning Device Change-Out Program

San Luis Obispo County, California

Status:  Active as of October 19, 2023

Location: Nipomo, Los Osos, and Paso Robles

Eligible fuels: Wood replaces with natural gas, propane, electric stove or pellet stove

Notable feature(s):  Program can handle paper or electronic applications & voucher program has a streamlined process; No change outs to wood or pellet appliances.

Incentive Amounts
The San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution District (APCD) offers residents vouchers up to $4,000 to replace a wood stove, wood stove insert, or fireplace with a heater-rated gas appliance, or EPA certified wood stove or pellet stove. Review the incentives table here to see what each device change out qualifies for in incentives.

Program Duration
The program is ongoing until funds are depleted with a limited wait list to ensure program funds are expended if approved projects are not completed.

To qualify for a voucher, residents must submit an application with pictures of their existing wood burning device and chimney to the APCD with a written quote for the new gas appliance. If eligible, the district will issue a reimbursement voucher. Voucher recipients must purchase and have the new device installed within 180 days of the issuance date and submit completed paperwork to the APCD for reimbursement.

Applicants must be the legal owner of the property or be authorized in writing by the owner to apply and must comply with the appropriate building codes and permit requirements. Old wood burning devices must be destroyed or made inoperable. APCD Rule 504 bans the installation of uncertified wood burning devices. Nipomo resident specific guidelines can be found here. Paso Robles resident specific guidelines can be found here.

More Information
For more information, please visit the program website or contact Meghan Field at 805-781-1003 or

1.   Change-out Resources
2.  Change-out Programs






   Bay Area

   El Dorado


   Northern Sonoma




   San Lorenzo

   San Joaquin

   San Luis Obispo

   South Coast



   Fort Collins

   Northern Colorado




   West Silver Valley


   Linn County




   Lower Peninsula




   Butte-Silver Bow


   Western Nevada

New Hampshire and Maine

New York



   Washington County



   Columbia Valley
   Thurston County



bottom of page